Trendsetter? Spring 2012

It is the last day of March and Easter is just around the corner. Spring to me means flowers blooming, temperatures rising, and most exciting…new clothing! Although I am living in Athens for school, my permanent home is in Augusta, Georgia, the home of The Masters golf tournament. It is common for Augusta residents to rent out their homes for the week of Masters to out-of-towners who are attending the golf tournament. Why am I telling you this? Every spring around this time I am forced to clean out my closet and drawers and donate or sell any clothes that I do not wear.

Although this seems like a daunting task at first I am always pleased with the amount of money I get by selling my clothes to local consignment shops, and of course the cleanliness of my closet! This year I made a nice chunk of change off my clothes, and while I plan to save some of the money, I am definitely going on a shopping spree for spring/summer clothing!

I am excited to buy some of Spring 2012s trends! The following are some of this season’s trends according to Glamour Magazine. Color-blocking is trend number one. Try wearing tops or dresses with bright color-blocking; it is suggested that no more than 3 colors are worn together. The next trend is bold prints such as oversize florals, mirror like geometric shapes, and even bird prints. The color family trending this spring is the orange family specifically tangerines, and corals.  Pastels are another color family that is popular this season. Glamour states, “Spring’s sweet sorbet shades and pastel hues give off a low-key, ladylike vibe.” Finally, a design that was made popular in the 1940s and then again in the 1980s, the peplum skirt, dresses, and tops. This design is defined by a short flared ruffle that sits at the natural waist. All these trends are pictured below!

Although something is popular does not mean it is for all women. For example a woman should proportion the prints she wears to the size of her frame (If she is a bigger woman she can wear larger prints, a smaller woman should wear smaller prints). Also women with fairer skin like myself, cannot always wear the colors that are trending because they will wash us out.

Color Blocking

Bold Prints

Orange Family

Pastels

Peplum

March 31, 2012. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

